honey soy tofu

Let me just start by saying that Pinterest is a godsend.

Somehow I ended up with four blocks of tofu in my fridge and pretty much nothing else. I’m lazy tired, have three papers due, and have no business ordering delivery on a Tuesday night.

And so, Pinterest.

I found this recipe in 5 minutes, it only takes 20 minutes to make, and I’m confident that even tofu skeptics would enjoy it– although as a massive fan of tofu, I’m not the best judge.

You can even make it vegan using agave nectar, and it’s already gluten free. Hooray for inclusivity!

The recipe is by Becca at Amuse Your Bouche [an excellent name], and can be found here.
If you’re into easy vegetarian (and sometimes vegan) cooking, this blog is the place to go.

in progress
finished
yum
I think a lot of the reason that people are wary about tofu is because of its texture, but when it’s cooked, you can get a nice crispy outer layer that makes it super satisfying to eat. This recipe adds to that by having the honey caramelize the tofu a little, making it even crunchier and more awesome.

Oh, and it smells very much like honey and ginger and happiness.

I hope this inspires you to fight the temptation of delivery every once and a while…if I can do it, so can you!

Leave a Reply

