will I ever cook a Julia Child recipe?

Disclaimer: this is going to be a kind of weird ramble–I’m on spring break, so that means spring break from regular cooking, too.

The other day, I rewatched Julie and Julia (one of my favorite movies), and since then, I’ve been thinking– should I challenge myself to making a recipe from the famous Mastering the Art of French Cooking? No doubt it would be an interesting experiment, but at what cost? Maybe I’m being dramatic, but the stress of gathering potentially outdated equipment, hard-to-find ingredients, and then having to follow 20+ steps for 2+ hours seems kind of like a Pyrrhic victory [a new favorite phrase of mine].

I’m a strong proponent of cooking being accessible to everyone, and French cuisine, at least in the way it is typically presented, is notoriously unforgiving to amateurs. I’m not sure if I will ever willingly cook in this style, and at this point, I think I’m philosophically against it.

I’m only an enthusiastic amateur right now, and seeing a recipe that tires you by just reading is…demoralizing. If I were to get into actually writing recipes down, I’d never want anyone to feel that way. Cooking doesn’t have to be that complicated to taste good, and the purposeful alienation of the average person when it comes to culinary things is a bit ridiculous. I don’t want to support that kind of “food elitism”, for lack of a better term.

So anyway, I probably won’t ever cook a MAFC recipe on my own time. Sorry Julia.
I think you should be able to “master the art” of any cuisine you want without feeling like you have to tear your hair out. Then again, I haven’t gotten to culinary school yet  🙂

Leave a Reply

